Dynastic politics taking over
  • The Statesman
  • 02 Apr 2014
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Big font Small font

Sons, daughters contesting at least 50 seats
Press Trust of India
New Delhi, 1 April
From President Pranab Mukherjee’s son Mr Abhijit to Mr Rahul Gandhi and Mr Varun Gandhi, at least 50 parliamentary constituencies will be contested by 'sons and daughters' of politicians of various parties during the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.
Of these, a majority of candidates have been fielded from the ruling Congress party.
Mr Abhijit Mukherjee, a sitting MP, is contesting on a Congress ticket from his present Jangipur (West Bengal) constituency while Mr Rahul Gandhi and Mr Varun Gandhi are fighting from Amethi and Pilibhit constituencies in Uttar Pradesh, respectively.
Congress Vice President Rahul is UPA chairperson Mrs Sonia Gandhi's son and Varun is the son of Mrs Maneka Gandhi, a sitting BJP MP from Uttar Pradesh's Aonla constituency.
Mrs Sonia Gandhi, wife of former Prime Minister, the late Rajiv Gandhi, is contesting elections from the Rae Bareli parliamentary constituency.
BJP has this time fielded Varun from Sultanpur and his mother Maneka from Pilibhit. Maneka is the wife of the late Sanjay Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi's brother.
Finance Minister P Chidambaram's son Karti is in the poll fray from Tamil Nadu's Sivaganga constituency. Karti is making his debut in Lok Sabha elections from Sivaganga, which is represented by his father in the lower house of Parliament.
Senior BJP leader and former Finance Minister Yashwant Sinha's son Jayant is contesting from Hazaribagh constituency in Jharkhand. Mr Yashwant Sinha is a Lok Sabha member from Hazaribagh. Sons and Union Ministers of former Congress party leaders, who are no more, are also contesting upcoming Lok Sabha polls. Mr Jyotiraditya Scindia, son of the late Madhavrao Scindia, is contesting from Madhya Pradesh's Guna constituency. He is a Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Power.
Mr Sachin Pilot, son of the late Rajesh Pilot, is contesting from Rajasthan's Ajmer constituency. Sachin is a Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Corporate Affairs.
Mr Jitin Prasada, son of late Jitendra Prasada is contesting from Uttar Pradesh's Dhaurahra constituency. He is Minister of State for Human Resource Development.
In Maharashtra, Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar's daughter Ms Supriya Sule is contesting from Baramati seat. Ms Sule, who represents the constituency in Lok Sabha, is contesting on Nationalist Congress Party ticket. Mr Nilesh Rane, a sitting MP, is contesting from Ratnagiri- Sindhudurg seat on a Congress ticket. Rane, a sitting MP, is the son of  Narayan Rane.

comments powered by Disqus